The day I pretended to be an actress

29 May
Pretending to be an actress. (Caro Ibrahim)

Smiling for the camera. (Caro Ibrahim)

Last year, I pretended to be a model. This year, I pretended to be an actress.

A few weeks ago, my friend and filmmaker, Caro Ibrahim, asked me to act in their short film, Between You & Me. Initially, I said no due to time commitments and my minimal acting experience.

Do elementary and high school skits count? Maybe those spoken word poetry performances would be more helpful.

And then, I read the poetic and beautifully-written script by Pierre Chevrier. How could I say no? I could feel the emotions of the characters and envisioned myself in the film. I could do this.

(Caro Ibrahim)

Filming in the arboretum. (Caro Ibrahim)

An early sunrise. (Caro Ibrahim)

An early sunrise. (Caro Ibrahim)

As a performer, I believe the best performances are the ones where you go back to those places you wrote the pieces. Or in this case for me, you think about and remember experiences that will take you there.

It can be extremely raw and vulnerable, especially when you open up and give a part of yourself to the audience. I’ve cried a few times on stages when I’ve taken myself to those places, but I’ve also deeply connected with others when I’ve opened up.

These performances are the most rewarding and real, but are also the toughest ones.

I’ve been performing spoken word and music for the past few years, and there are some poems I perform quite often. Although I care deeply for these pieces, it’s easier to disconnect from the places I wrote them as time passes and I’m in a different place.

Since most of my poetry is so raw, it would be difficult to go back to those places all the time. It’s definitely a balancing act. However, this new acting experience was very vulnerable and opened me up emotionally to a variety of feelings.

I took myself to places in which I would feel joy and heartache, fullness and longing.

Life is full of these opposite and seemingly conflicting feelings – often at the same time. I definitely gave a piece of myself in this film and I hope that comes across.

Who knows what this acting experience will open up? Maybe more acting? Regardless of what happens, I feel so lucky to have been part of this film, and to have worked with such passionate and talented people.

If you have some time, please check out the Digi60 Spring Festival on Thursday, May 30 at the Bytowne Cinema. If you can make it, please come and say hi!

A beautiful shot in the film. (Caro Ibrahim)

A beautiful shot by a talented filmmaker. (Caro Ibrahim)

5 Responses to “The day I pretended to be an actress”

  1. Caro May 29, 2013 at 5:37 pm #

    I’m sharing this with everyone 🙂 you are a talented Artist. It was a pleasure and an honour to work with you ❤

    • Jenna Tenn-Yuk May 29, 2013 at 5:53 pm #

      Caro, you are too sweet! It was an absolute pleasure working with you and I look forward to seeing your film at the festival tomorrow!

  2. Jim Miles May 29, 2013 at 6:11 pm #

    Nice post. I hope you get a great reaction from the audience.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Between You & Me: check out the short film I acted in | Jenna Tenn-Yuk - June 20, 2013

    […] Last month, I acted in Caro Ibrahim’s short film, Between You & Me. This was my first real acting experience, which I shared in The day I pretended to be an actress. […]

Leave a Reply

