A Christian comes out: an op-ed I wrote in the Ottawa Citizen

20 Aug

“Jenna, I don’t see what’s the big deal of you walking in the Pride Parade,” my friend said. “No one will even know you’re gay.”

“Isn’t a huge part of walking in the parade to show you’re proud of who you are?” I replied. “I’m not proud of who I am right now, but I hope one day I will be.”

That was two years ago when the thought of walking in the Capital Pride Parade petrified me. I was still ashamed of being gay and I wasn’t comfortable in my own skin.

Needless to say, a lot has change over these past several years. I’ve come out through my poetry, blog and public speaking engagements. I’ve also openly discussed the struggles of being gay and Christian, and want to foster dialogue between these communities.

This week is Pride Week in Ottawa and after many years of struggling with my sexuality, I can finally say I am proud of who I am.

You can check out my op-ed piece that was published today in the Ottawa Citizen, A Christian comes out, here. Please let me know what you think and I hope you can see the value of respectful dialogue and speaking your stories.

I've come a long way.

I’ve come a long way.

9 Responses to “A Christian comes out: an op-ed I wrote in the Ottawa Citizen”

  1. Kelsey Atkinson (@KelseyDoreen) August 20, 2013 at 9:24 am #

    Jenna, I am so happy for you that you have reached a place where you are proud of who you are!

    • Jenna Tenn-Yuk August 20, 2013 at 11:27 pm #

      Kelsey, I really appreciate your kind words and support! It definitely feels great to be proud of who I am.

  2. Matt Adams August 20, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

    You and your friends can come to my church anytime sister, as you are. Or I’d love to come to you.

  3. Jay August 21, 2013 at 10:44 pm #

    Reblogged this on believe it. do it. live it. and commented:
    Beautifully written and something that I can definitely relate to.

  4. Andrea Perez September 26, 2014 at 12:25 pm #

    Hi Jenna. I really loved your article in the Huff Post titled “A Gay Christian Goes Back to Church.” May I have your permission to reprint that in our church newsletter? I may need to edit it for space though, so wanted to get your permission. We are attempting to change some hearts and minds in our very traditional congregation. Also, could you tell me how to get that article off your website, please.
    Thank you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The power of a single story: when that story is yours | Jenna Tenn-Yuk - October 19, 2013

    […] I publicly came out on my blog, in the Ottawa Citizen and on CBC, I’ve received many messages from friends, family, strangers and people from my past I […]

Leave a Reply

