Give thanks: how to create a gratitude jar

8 Jan
My gratitude jar! (Jenna Tenn-Yuk)

My gratitude jar! (Jenna Tenn-Yuk)

I’ve been meaning to make a gratitude jar for a long time and I finally got around to doing so. Crafts are so much fun!

Before I continue, some of you may be wondering what a gratitude jar is. Well, I’ll tell you! It’s a jar where you can write down various moments, people, things, etc. that you’re thankful for.

It’s easy to get distracted by the busyness and stresses of life. In those moments, we may get overwhelmed and lose perspective. We may even lose ourselves, dwelling on difficult situations and/or inadequacies we see in our lives.

I don’t believe many people recognize or believe their true worth and value. We’re constantly desiring more or feeling as if we’re never good enough.

Gratitude is a powerful way to change our perspective.

There’s so much to be thankful for, and it often doesn’t take much to appreciate the beauty, life and excitement around us. I’m constantly amazed by the little moments of life and awesome people who inspire me each day.

I could even make a gratitude jar filled of hilarious moments with my little cousins. They make me laugh and remind me it’s the small things that really matter, from our ice cream adventures to writing a song together at Christmas. These are the instants I want to remember and fill my jar with.

December and January are often times of reflection, change and moving forward. I’m sure many of you have been thinking about this past year and creating some goals for 2014.

It’s important to keep the big picture in mind, but I encourage you to appreciate the little moments and not let them slip through your hands. Hold onto those experiences and write them down because they can be really encouraging in the difficult times.

So let’s get back to the gratitude jar. It’s really easy to make! All you need is a jar, some ribbon, buttons, paper to write on and gratitude. My friend and I also put glitter in our jars, which obviously made life more fabulous!

Don't forget the glitter! (Jenna Tenn-Yuk)

Glitter makes everything better! (Jenna Tenn-Yuk)

(Jenna Tenn-Yuk)

Give thanks and appreciate the big and little moments of life. (Jenna Tenn-Yuk)

What are you grateful for?

Leave a Reply

